Applying for Grants


Making your Application

The application for fiscal 2015 grant was run out.


  1. Applicants
    1. Non-profit organizations capable of performing the proposed project that has or will have a bank account in its officially registered name into which to receive the grant.
  2. Project
    1. Projects that meet TIFO's objectives, with priority given to projects outside Japan
    2. Projects, or a discrete part of a continuing project, that can be completed within one fiscal year (April 1st of one year to March 31st of the following year), with the proviso that funding for discrete parts of a continuing project will be eligible for funding for a maximum of three consecutive years.

* The following are ineligible and will not be accepted.

  1. Applications from individuals
  2. Application for expenses to stay in Japan for an extended period
  1. Points of attention
    1. Other than exceptional projects where TIFO finds compelling reasons for continued support for over three years, a guiding principle of TIFO’s grant policy is not to award grants for four consecutive years. This measure enables TIFO to extend support to as many applicants as possible by de-emphasizing repeated long-term funding to the same recipients. While we do not regard such applications as ineligible, they are much less likely to receive support.
    2. For multi-year projects of up to three years duration, the Selection Committee will evaluate the project each year and decide whether or not TIFO will continue to extend support.

Selection Schedule

November 30th, 2014
Application deadline
February 2015
Selection Committee selects projects for funding for fiscal year 2015
March 2015
Approval of the selected projects by the Board of Directors and notification to the applicants

Selection Committee
Toshiba International Foundation has an independent selection committee that selects the most appropriate projects for funding from among the applications and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors.

(As of 12 June, 2014)

Selection Committee
Chairman Nobuhiko Shima (Journalist)
Members Yoko Ishikura (Professor emeritus, Hitotsubashi University)
Eiko Imahashi (Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, University of Tokyo)
Keisuke Omori (General Manager, CSR Office, Corporate Communication Div., Toshiba Corporation)
Norio Kamijo (Director, Public Account Division, Dentsu Inc.)
Heita Kawakatsu (Governor of Shizuoka Prefecture)
Fukunari Kimura (Professor, Faculty of Economics, Keio University)
Robert Campbell (Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, University of Tokyo)
Fumihiko Yamada (Professor, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies)

Toshiba International Foundation Top Page | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use of Website